Brands I love · Lets focus on ...........

Ace that Base

If there is one make up product that I had to chose as my all time essential must have it is PRIMER. You may be asking why primer, most people wouldn’t even bother with this step, but in my personal opinion I believe to not prime is a crime. In general I find that primer gives your skin a perfect base coat to apply foundation to that allows make up to sit nicely on the skin without melting away or not sticking onto your skin.

There are a few main options when it comes to selecting the optimum primer for the task. Your main choices range from hydrating primers, colour correcting primers, highlighting primers and pore minimising primers. Based on your personal skin concerns different primers will work best for the task at hand. My main concern is using my primer as an extra step of hydration for my skin before I pile on the rest of my make up. Saying that there are days that I want to eliminate my pores or reduce redness, so at any given time I will have a high end and drug store version of each type of primer. To help you all find your perfect primer I have compiled a list of primers that are my personal favourites that I would highly recommend.

Hydrating Primers;

Drug Store Option

Rimmel London Fix and Protect Make Up Primer $13.95 (Available at Priceline)

rimmel This primer is incredibly lightweight, almost like a lotion consistency that applies more like a moisturiser than a primer. It blends out easily and leaves a dewy finish for make up application. Most importantly this primer is incredibly hydrating and gives your skin the needed moisture it needs to wake you up in the morning. Whats even better it contains SPF 25 to protect your skin from the suns rays.

 

High End Option

Too Faced Hangover Primer $46.00 (Available at Mecca)

primer

This is my holy grail primer that I cannot function without. This primer contains coconut water which leaves your skin feeling incredibly hydrated. It smells amazing and is extremely light weight so it doesn’t feel like you are even wearing any primer at all. A little goes a long way with this primer so it will last you a while and is well worth its high end price tag.

 

 

Pore Minimising Primers;

High End Options (sorry my favourites in this category only come from high end)

Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer $52.00 (Available at Mecca)

smashbox

When it comes to a primer that will ensure your make up lasts the entire day, this is the one for you. It has a thicker consistency so you only need a pea size to cover your problem areas. This primer is best used just where you want to minimise your pores as it feels thick on the skin, I personally just apply in the t zone. It blurs the appearance of visible pores and dries matte for foundation application.

 

Benefit Cosmetics the Porefessional $53.00 (Available at Myer)

pore

This primer is incredibly thick and covers up everything. It literally makes your pores vanish. I would only apply this primer in the t zone as it is quite drying on the skin and would leave your skin feeling dry if you apply to the entire face. This primer ensures your make up will last all day as it leaves a tacky finish for your foundation to hold on to. This is a great primer to introduce you to the world of primers because it does exactly what it promises.

 

 

I hope that this list helps you select a new primer to try out. There are so many others that I have used but these are the ones that have left a lasting impression. So if you take one thing from this blog post today it would be to remember once again that to NOT PRIME IS A CRIME

Till next time,

Sarah xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

